Weekly News Bulletin No. 40

MUSIC NEWS

Melbourne based film collective BANALARAMA will be filming a special show at The Gasometer Hotel on Friday 8th January. The night will feature Sui Zhen, The Harpoons and Mangelwurzel. If you’re down to groove, head to the event page for ticket deets.

 

After selling out his first show at The Enmore, Mac Demarco has announced a second show at Factory Theatre for Thursday 7th January. He will be supported by Kirin J Callanan and Free Time. Get your tickets here.

 

Is it any surprise that The John Butler Trio have sold out their second show at Melbourne Zoo? No. It’s not. Check out the updated list here.

 

If you can’t get enough of Christmas/psych rock combos, make sure to hit up The Foundry’s Festivus, where they will be hosting Moses Gunn Collective and If I had Antlers. Things will go down on Saturday 19th December, with tickets available through Oztix.

 

We’re very excited to tell you all about Soul Flats, a new arts, music and culture festival. It will look to celebrate the diversity of Australia’s music scene, pulling in exciting young acts such as Levingstone, Mondegreen and The Pretty Littles. The festival will take place from Friday 12th February through to Sunday 14th at Delinquin, NSW. Find out more at their website.

TOUR NEWS

You Beauty

… are giving you a chance to get your grubby hands on their second album all pressed pretty on vinyl. Illywhacka is – as straight from the press releases mouth – a “pub rock opera tracing a likely story about an online romance scammer who falls in love with his prey”. Catch em at the dates below.
Saturday 23rd January – Vic On The Park, Syd
Friday 29th January – The Tote, Melbourne
Sunday 7th February – Wombarra Bowlo, Wollongong
Saturday 13th February – Foundry, Brisbane

 

Thee Oh Sees

… have made more albums than you have had hot dinners. The San Francisco garage rockers will be bringing their fourteenth (you read that right) Mutilator Defeated At Last around the country on their extensive summer tour.
Friday 8th January – Crow Bar, Brisbane with Blank Realm and Kitchen’s Floor.
Saturday 9th January – Shark Bar, Gold Coast with Kitchen’s Floor, White Lodge and Donny Love.
Sunday 10th January – The Northern, Byron Bay with Waxhead and Edward Thatch.
Wednesday 13th January – The Small Ballroom, Newcastle with Straight Arrows and Leroy McQueen (Gooch Palms).
Thursday 14th January – Newtown Social Club, Sydney with Straight Arrows + special guests.
Friday 15th January – Newtown Social Club, Sydney with Straight Arrows + special guests.
Saturday 16th January – Wollongong Uni Bar, Wollongong with Straight Arrows and Los Tones.
Tuesday 19th January – Barwon Club, Geelong with The Living Eyes and ORB.
Thursday 21st January – Howler, Melbourne with UV Race and Terrible Truths.
Friday 22nd January – Howler, Melbourne with POWER and Tyrannamen.
Saturday 23rd January – Mojo’s Bar, Fremantle with Hideous Sun Demon + special guests

 

Saskwatch

To get us all excited for their upcoming third album Sorry I Let This Come Between Us, soul group Saskwatch have announced a mammoty tour and a video for new single ‘Everyone’s Giving Up’. Cub Sport will be taking on support duties for many of the dates across the country.
Sat 9th Jan – Summer Of Soul Festival*
Thu 21st Jan – Australian Open Sessions*
Sat 23rd Jan – Ozfest – Miami Tavern, Gold Coast*
Sun 24th Jan – Ozfest – Waterfront Hotel, Sunshine Coast*
Thu 4 Feb – Settlers Tavern, Margaret River*
Fri 5 Feb – Clancy’s Fish Pub, Dunsborough*
Sat 6th Feb – Summerset Arts Festival, Carine Open Space, Carine*
Sun 7 Feb – Mojos, Fremantle*
Thu 25 Feb – UC Refectory, Canberra*
Wed 2 Mar – Studio Six, Sutherland
Thu 3 Mar – The Basement, Sydney
Fri 4 Mar – Baroque, Katoomba
Sat 5 Mar – Small Ballroom, Newcastle
Sun 6 Mar – 5 Church Street, Bellingen
Sat 12 Mar – The Triffid, Brisbane
Fri 18 Mar – The Jack, Cairns*
Sat 19 Mar – Street Party, Townsville*
Sun 20 Mar – Magnums, Airlie Beach*
Sat 26 Mar – Fat Controller, Adelaide
Fri 1 Apr – Club 54, Launceston
Sat 2 Apr – Republic Bar, Hobart
Wed 6 Apr – Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Thu 7 Apr – Workers Club, Geelong
Fri 8 Apr – Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Sat 9 Apr – Theatre Royale, Castlemaine
Thu 14 Apr – The Loft, Warrnambool*
Fri 15 Apr – The Grand Hotel, Mornington*
Sat 16 Apr – Westernport Hotel, San Remo*
Fri 29 Apr – The Gap View, Alice Springs*
Sat 30 Apr – The Railway Club, Darwin*

 

Cold War Kids

… can’t get enough of Australia, it seems, and Australia can’t get enough of them. They’ll be back with a cluster of dates to accompany their appearance at Bluesfest. Tickets are onsale now.
Sunday 20th March – Metropolis, Fremantle
Tuesday 22nd March – HQ Adelaide
Friday 25th March – 170 Russell Melbourne
Saturday 26th March – Metro Theatre Sydney

 

Holy Holy

… will be bringing their pop dreams across Australia, to promote their new single ‘A Heroine’.
Friday 15th January – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney
Saturday 16th January – The Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle
Thursday 21st January – The Rosemount, Perth
Friday 22nd January – The Fat Controller, Adelaide
Friday 29th January – The Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Saturday 30th January – The Triffid, Brisbane

Submit a comment