Weekly News Bulletin No. 48

Wafia

Music News

Selling out her Melbourne and Sydney dates, Wafia has added on three fresh shows to her current national tour. BABE. She will play Northcote Social Club in Melbourne on Thursday 31st March, Fat Controller in Adelaide on Friday 1st April and Cake Wines Cellar Door in Sydney on Saturday 2nd April. Tickets are available here.

The Peninsula Picnic has announced set times and menus for the gathering, set to take place at Mornington Racecourse on Sunday 20th March. Ruby Whiting will ease everyone into a state of relaxation, with Timberwolf, Darren Middleton and Kim Churchill following. Missy Higgins will round out the day. And once everyone is sufficiently, um, happy off all the delicious wines available, shuttle buses will safely take picnickers to Frankston train station.

Back after a successful launch in January, ABABCd will be hosting glam-rockers Pearls, indie-breezers The Ocean Party, punk-synth noise-makers Ausmuteants and a secret act at the Gasometer, Melbourne on Friday 15th April. Tickets here.

Seattle duo ODESZA sold out their Sydney show in no time, and have since added a second date at the Metro Theatre for Thursday 21st April. Look at all their tour dates here.

Moonee Tunes is here, courtesy of The Reach Foundation and The Valley. The fun will take place at the Moonee Valley Racecourse on Friday 8th April, with local Melbourne legends Kingswood, Tkay Maidza, Harts and Remi all playing. Tickets are on sale here.

Tour News

UV Boi

Given he’s only on the cusp of releasing his debut EP [L-UV], the hype around UV Boi is impressive. Catch his waves of electronic production on tour soon.
Saturday 9th April – Jack Rabbit Slims, Perth
Friday 15th April – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne
Saturday 16th April – Fat Controller, Adelaide
Saturday 23rd April – Woolly Mammoth, Brisbane
Friday 29th April – Transit Bar, Canberra
Saturday 30th April – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney
Saturday 7th May – Flinders Social, Townsville

M83

The creator of beautiful dreams will be supported by the lovely Japanese Wallpaper on his upcoming Australian tour. These dates will follow the release of his new record Junk. Tickets are here.
Tuesday 10th May – Forum Theatre
Saturday 14th May – The Tivoli
Monday 16th May – Enmore Theatre

Hein Cooper

On top of his Art of Escape album tour, the Sydney singer-songwriter has announced a couple of special shows to celebrate the launch of the record. Watch the acoustic set he shared with us in Melbourne here.
Wednesday 23rd March – Milton Theatre, Milton (Hometown Launch)
Thursday 24th March – Newtown Social Club, Sydney
Friday 25th March – Shebeen, Melbourne

DMA’s

If these guys were your relatives, they’d be the overachieving cousins that your uncle is constantly telling everyone about at family dinners. They have released a video for ‘Step Up The Morphine’, will be making their TV debut on Stephen Colbert and announced two more shows for their Australian tour. Check the latter out below and get your tickets from their website.
Friday 27th May – The Zoo, Brisbane
Friday 3rd June – Fat Controller, Adelaide
Saturday 4th June – The Rosemount, Perth
Thursday 9th June – Metro Theatre, Sydney NEW SHOW!
Friday 10th June – Metro Theatre, Sydney SOLD OUT
Saturday 11th June – Corner Hotel, Melbourne SOLD OUT
Sunday 12th June – Corner Hotel, Melbourne SOLD OUT
Monday 13th June – Corner Hotel, Melbourne NEW SHOW!

Safia

Alongside their Groovin the Moo dates this year, the electro three-piece will be playing a string of secret shows to launch new single ‘Make Them Wheels Roll’. The locations are unknown, however you can select tickets by city now.
Friday 6th May – Fremantle
Friday 13th May – Brisbane
Friday 27th May – Sydney
Friday 3rd June – Melbourne

Mutemath

The New Orleans electro-rock band are back with a headline tour to accompany their spot on the Groovin line-up. This time, they will be airing fourth record ‘Vitals’ to Aussie audiences. Tickets here.
Wednesday 27th April – Metro Theatre, Sydney
Thursday 28th April – Corner Hotel, Melbourne
Monday 2nd May – The Triffid, Brisbane
Wednesday 4th May – Rosemount Hotel, Perth

Henry Rollins

The all-singing, all-dancing, all-writing, all-acting Henry Rollins will be heading up Australia for a series of all-talking. These special dates will see Rollins revel in the spoken word in Australia for the first time since 2012. Tickets here.
Friday 2nd September – Blue Mountains Theatre & Community Hub, Springwood
Wednesday 7th September – Milton Theatre, Milton
Thursday 8th September – Canberra Theatre Playhouse, Canberra
Friday 9th September – Wollongong Town Hall, Wollongong
Saturday 10th September – Wet City, Newcastle
Sunday 11th September – Darwin Entertainment Centre, Darwin
Tuesday 13th September – Star Court Theatre, Lismore
Wednesday 14th September – The Tivoli, Brisbane
Thursday 15th September – The Tivoli, Brisbane
Saturday 17th September – Theatre Royal, Hobart
Monday 19th Sept – Arts Centre Melbourne’s State Theatre, Melbourne
Tuesday 20th September – Arts Centre Melbourne’s State Theatre, Melbourne
Wednesday 21st September – Araluean Arts Centre, Alice Springs
Thursday 22nd September – Thebarton Theatre, Adelaide
Friday 23rd September – The Regal Theatre, Perth
Saturday 24th September – The Regal Theatre, Perth
Sunday 25th September – Margaret River Cultural Centre, Margaret River

Submit a comment